State Testing

Two of the most dreaded words.  State Test.  I’m not sure who dreads them more, the students or their teachers.  I understand the need to measure growth of our students but are we accomplishing what is needed to help these kids be successful outside of high school?

I have been reading many posts lately and am excited to find that other teachers out there are preparing students just like I am.  I am lucky enough to have a co-worker who thinks very much like me.  We believe that all students do not learn at the same pace!  What a thought!!  For the last five years we have been requiring students to remediate and retest if they do not earn a 70 or higher on their unit tests.  Most of what we do is very similar to SBG (standards based grading).  The big difference is we don’t break our gradebooks into standards.  But I love, LOVE, this idea!  For the last five years we have required that they remediate/retest the entire unit, even if they understood parts.  I like the idea of breaking it into parts.  Why didn’t we think of this before??

Next semester I am not teaching Algebra One.  A first in eight years.  Not sure how I feel about that yet.  I also have a student teacher for next semester.  I am going to take this opportunity to create SBG for my two preps; Algebra Two and Geometry.  I plan on reading many blogs in hopes of creating a great beginning for my SBG!

About acuteangle89

I am blessed to be the new librarian at Southaven High School. I taught math at SHS since 2003 and in 2016 became the librarian. I am going to use this blog to document my transition into this new and exciting part of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

